ACF Chefs Las Vegas Chapter

President's Message

Fellow Culinarians, Associate Members, Culinary Students:

As I write this message today, we are just a few days from our annual Christmas Toy Drive being held on December 16th at Main Street Station. This long held chapter tradition brings us all together to give a little back to those children and family’s less fortunate over the holiday period. There are still tickets available and can be purchased via PayPal or at the door. Looking forward to seeing many of you there to support this great cause.

I want to thank Chef John Metcalf, faculty and the student body at large for the wonderful experience they afforded those who attended the November meeting at CSN. We had an evening full of great information and fellowship, thank you Mark Perigen from the USDA, David from Major Foods, Chef Bruno for his lead in the preparation of the dinner, Lucio and Gary for the final presentation of the new app “Infoodsys”. What a comprehensive and engaging evening.

Our loyal members by the names of Frank and Claude, hosted our latest Poker Tournament at South Point Hotel and Casino. This continues to be a fun event for everyone who attends, free drinks and pizza; what could be a better way to spend an evening among friends and don't forget those in attendance don't have to be ACF members. Spread the word and let's fill five tables, the more folks who participate, the larger the “Pot” the next being January 6th 2015.

Remember “SAVE THE DATE for the 24th Annual Chefs for Kids Dinner and Auction, Saturday February 21st, 2015."

Looking to plan ahead for your own professional development, Chef Raymond Bar has scheduled for February 21st a free ACF Practical workshop followed in April by the actual practical testing 25th both to be hosted by Le Cordon Bleu as we continue to promote these opportunities.

Looking to the New Year, the Western Regional competitions are going to be held here in Las Vegas at College of Southern Nevada (CSN), on March 20th and 21st. Early days, yet there will be plenty of opportunities to assist in carrying out this event and hopefully to support our Student of the Year Nominee, Jason Isaacs.

Be sure to check out the chapter's Facebook Page under ACF Chefs of Las Vegas and request to join. It is pretty active with assorted food news and titbits and as I continue say in these messages, the board is always looking for ways to better engage the chapter as a whole and we look to you as members for ideas, suggestions and volunteerism to spread the word to help the chapter to grow and become more recognized as an active force in the community.


Chef Philip Pinkney, CEC, CCE, AAC
ACF Chefs of Las Vegas

Executive Committee and Board

Executive Committee

Philip Pinkney, CEC, AAC

Mike Whitesides
Vice President

Adrian Hill, CEC

Steve Soltz, CHE

George Bailey
Sergeant of Arms

Board of Directors

Tom Rosenberger, CEC

Michael Ty, CEC, AAC
Lucio Arancibia
Claude Lambertz

Tina Guthrie
Michael Chen


John A Rees III
Associate Advisory Board

Xelyna Rodriquez
Junior Chapter President

Commitee Chairs

Michael Ty, CEC, AAC
By-laws Chair

Tina Guthrie
Membership Chair

Lucio Arancibia
Scholarship Chair

Raymond Bar
Certification Chair

Dale Shigenaga
Culinary Show Chair